We were very happy to attend the official unveiling of the Blue Plaque awarded to the iconic Freemason’s Hall in Parktown. The event took place on Sunday the 16th of July and was followed by a delightful jazz performance. Thanks to all at the Freemasons for such a cooperative experience!
The text of the Blue Plaque reads as follows: Freemason’s Hall was completed in 1957. It is the headquarters of English Freemasonry under the United Grand Lodge of England in the District of South Africa North. The building was designed by the architect Gordon Leith, District Grand Superintendent of Works, an active senior Freemason. He worked in the practice of Sir Herbert Baker and was influenced by his work. The building is characterised by its elongated horizontal and symmetrical form, its colonnaded street entrance and impressive entrance hall.
Enjoy these pics of the event, courtesy of Jane and Vincent Carruthers.